Autumn leaves and colours…

These fit several current challenges but were made for a KCUK tag swap – scraplings as accompaniment.

I love leaves – though had forgotten quite how much – and I also love autumn colours.  I spent a blissful couple of hours stippling and stamping with Fluid chalks on the tags.  I used Brilliance Galaxy Gold to overstamp and edged with Krylon pen.

autumn scrapling   autumn tag

autumn tag 2 

octagonal scrapling autumn 

The best thing of all about chalk inks, is that they’re permanent once heat set and will never fade, unlike Distress ink and Adirondacks, which I usually use.  I’m veering more to permanent inks (and other mediums) at the moment because I want to be able to flick through my journals in a few years and see where I was up to now!

I used Adirondacks on the cards, with some stamping in Archival Sepia and, of course, some gold embossing, perfect for this time of year.

Then I got out the Brilliance ink, over Dylusions backgrounds, and made these.

Two more pages for the Journalling Mingle

Cath October 1   Cath October 2

and another card to accompany them, this time using Gold Leaf.

autumn leafing

It’s far from perfect, but I actually like the imperfection and my Stamp’n’Bond is pretty old and lumpy! What I love most about Brilliance (which is also a pigment ink and therefore permanent) is the pearlescent watermark effect you get from the understamping, which only shows when you tilt the card.

Challenges I’d like to enter are:-

Try it on Tuesday – Autumn Colours

Crazy Amigos – Falling leaves

All Sorts Challenge Blog – Autumn Leaves and Trees

Fashionable Stamping Challenge – Shades of Autumn/Fall (thanks, Lynne)

and one I haven’t heard of before…

Visible Images – Inspired by Autumn

xxx

35 thoughts on “Autumn leaves and colours…

  1. Sumptuous colours. The gold embossing looks stunning against the backgrounds.If you would like to join us at FSC this fortnight we would love to see you there.WishesLynne

  2. Beautiful leaves and lovely colour shades. The shadow effect is very effective. I love the new white background of your blog which makes your lovely work pop out so well.Jo x

  3. WOW – love the vibrant colours and the gold images which look amazing against those gorgeously inked backgrounds..Thanks so much for sharing with us at FSC..Esther xx

  4. Just popping back on to say a big thanks to Cath – these pages are sitting on my desk now and they are absolutely beautiful – photos do not do them justice.Can you see I like them?Ann Bxx

Leave a Reply

